skip to Main Content

2018 Pasifika Prizegiving

Talofa Lava, Malo e lelei, Kia Orana, Kia Ora, Nisa Bula Vinaka, Fakaalofa Lahi Atu Taloha Ni and Warm Pasifika Greetings.

On Thursday, 18 October in the Rutherford College hall we held our Second Annual Pasifika Prizegiving Awards. Teacher’s nominated Pasifika Students that have made a consistent effort throughout 2018. All students that were nominated by 3 or more teachers were rewarded with a trophy to keep. The trophy represents a ‘Lamp of Knowledge’. Students can continue to access knowledge when at Rutherford and as they work towards their future goals.

The night was filled with celebration, entertainment and food, a showcase of our Pasifika Students’ talents in academia, sport, culture, dance and music. Our guest speaker was ex-staff member Aiono Manu Faaea-Semeatu. She spoke on goals for all individuals and how to work towards our goals.

I would also like to thank the following people for their help and support with the organization of the night. To Mrs Taula, Gail ‘Aunty’ Paul, Kesi Koloni, Materoa Moses, Linda Cavanagh, Mr Matai’a, Mr Dempsey, Mr Gibbons, Mr Moore, Megumi Chiba, and our Head Boy Reuben He and Head Girl Jane Lee, to you I say fa’afetai Lava.

Congratulations to Ashna Prasad for the ‘Talamaivao Pasifika Academic Award’ for 2018.

We look forward to future Pasifika Prizegiving Success.

Fa’afetai Lava
Fa’avesi Talamaivao (Mr)
Pasifika Development Liaison & Mathematics Teacher.

Back To Top