skip to Main Content

Bronze Award winners at the KBB Music Festival 2018

On Thursday, 9 August the Concert Band competed in the KBB Music Festival. This festival has been running since 1983  and showcases the best in secondary schools orchestras, stage bands and concert bands in Auckland.

Their programme consisted of 4 contrasting pieces. This young ensemble did extremely well and received a Bronze award for their performance. The adjudicators commended their choice of repertoire and were very pleased with their set. The students performed with excellent musicianship and the many weeks of rehearsal, half day workshops and holiday camp really paid off!

This is the third year our Concert Band has participated and second year as a competitive group.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank our Band Director, Chad Davenport for his support, passion and commitment to this group. Our students were very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with some amazing musicians during our workshops in Term 2 and Term 3. We were very privileged to have our sectionals run by Norman MacFarlane, Anna Cooper, Reuben Chin, Antonina Marriott, Aiono Manu Faaea-Semeatu and ex student Do Hee Kim.

Thank you also to the Concert Band themselves for their dedication to the cause and for their commitment in learning their respective instruments.

Lauren Millar, Jarrod Jackson, Reuben He,Jennifer Cox, Nichollette Mamatuki, Kyra Brown, Tracy Feng, Rachel Jeung-McIntyre, Hannah Whyte, James Marriott, Faith Tan, Margaret Lowe, Enoch Chin, Amiila Akutsu, Jay Huggins, Alex Larking, Oliver Gracewood, Arnesh Sharma, Amanda Lowe, Matthew Cooper, Gaea Morrison, Hailey Stuart, Katie Felton, Kathryn Jeung-McIntyre, Joshua Siaki, Josh Walton and Derek Macahilig.

Back To Top