skip to Main Content

Science is a way of investigating, understanding, and explaining our natural, physical world and the wider universe. At Rutherford our team of highly qualified, enthusiastic staff instil interest and passion in the subject by encouraging inquiry and critical thinking skills through practical and hands-on activities.

From Year 9 to Year 11 students follow a General Science programme which gives them a broad base of knowledge across the different learning areas within Science. This leads to specialised courses at Year 12 and 13 in Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

Weekly tutorial sessions are run in the Info Commons on Wednesday after school to offer additional help and extension to any student that wishes extra one-on-one support.

YEAR 9 SCIENCE 2019

TOPIC STRAND
Intro to Science Nature of Science
Plants Living World
The Periodic Table Material World
Light and Sound Physical World
Astronomy Planet Earth and beyond
Living Things Living World
Matter Material World
Energy and Heat Physical World

YEAR 10 SCIENCE 2019

TOPIC STRAND
Force and Motion Physical World
Adaptations and Change Living World
Chemical Reactions Material World
Blood and Guts Living World
Earth Systems Planet Earth and beyond
Acids Material World
Electricity Physical World
Genetics Living World

​Faculty Staff

 

Miss R Butler Shaw HOF LEAP, Biology ShawR@rutherford.school.nz
Mr H Thomas HOF Science, Physics ThomasH@rutherford.school.nz
Mr D Wade Ass. HOF Science, TIC Chemistry WadeD@rutherford.school.nz
Mrs N Adam Biology AdamsN@rutherford.school.nz
Mr C Cartwright Science, Chemistry CartwrightC@rutherford.school.nz
Mrs A Goulding Science, Biology GouldingA@rutherford.school.nz
Miss S Prasad TIC Science, Chemistry PrasadS@rutherford.school.nz
Mr J Silby Science, Biology SilbyJ@rutherford.school.nz
Mr W Allison-Maxwell Science, Biology MaxwellW@rutherford.school.nz
Dr A Singh Biology, SCT SinghA@rutherford.school.nz
Mr M Graham Physics grahamm@rutherford.school.nz
Mr S Rekatsinas Biology rekatsinass@rutherford.school.nz
bottom_grey
Back To Top
Search