skip to Main Content

Senior Excellence Awards

On Wednesday, 28 October we were fortunate to celebrate the school’s Senior Excellence Awards 2020. With the disruptions of this year, it was pleasing to acknowledge the resilience of our students, staff and community volunteers that have been involved with the school.

The School Hall looked a vision with the poster size photos of our students, performing their skills, garnishing the walls. The lighting and table arrangements setting the scene, and finally the award winners and their families in attendance.

This evening was created to recognise, as best as possible, a number of great contributions and achievements of our senior students from the Cultural, Polynesian, Maori and Sports areas. There was no better illustration of this than with the opening Waiata’s and School Haka performed by a combination of students within all these areas.

Introductions and housekeeping were made from Mr Nathan Matai’a to hand over to our great MC for the night, Mr Neil Waka. He in turn set official proceedings in motion by passing the baton to our Guest Speaker, Mr Ofisa (Junior) Tonu’u. Thank you to these gentlemen for their valued contributions on the night.

This led into the evening’s programme where the various areas were acknowledged, both together and separately in a number of categories. Of particular note were the big two awards the Dux Artium and Dux Ludorum. The recipient of the Dux Artium was Carson Bull, and the recipients of the Dux Ludorum was jointly awarded to Brooke Compain and Sebastyan Jack.
Other outstanding achievements of the night:
Senior Female Performer of the Year – Arwyn Lupi
Senior Male Performer of the Year – Ezra Feau
Senior Outstanding Achievements in the Sporting Field – Paris Pickering
Senior Sportsman of the Year – Harrison Chapman
Senior Sportswoman of the Year – Macy Lynch- Blosse
The “Te Taonga ā Tangaroa” Award for Mahi-ā-Toi Supreme Tauira of the Year – Madison Price
The “Tahu Williams memorial” for Kapa Haka Supreme Tauira of the Year – Madison Price

Principal’s Awards Category
Principals Cup Sporting Personality – Harrison Chapman

The “Te Toi o ngā rangi Principals Award for Excellence to Te Ao Māori”Madison Price

Principals Award for Outstanding Pacific Island Achievement – Lara Craigie

With the evening being a combination of effectively four awards evenings, it was not possible to acknowledge every field within the realm of each genre. We hope to address these in various assemblies and prizegivings that are still to be performed this term.

Finally, this evening would not have flown as seamlessly as it did without the tireless dedication and leadership of Gill Bloxham. Her direction highlighted the effectiveness and merging of the night. Well supported by the Senior Leadership Team, and with the help of all the various other leaders – Eve Chandra, Jeff Ruha, Kerry Taula and Fa’avesi Talamaivao, they made sure we were able to celebrate our senior students’ efforts and performances of 2020.

Let us hope 2021 has more reason to celebrate, and the Senior Excellence Awards is a positive light in our year.

Back To Top